Institute Staff


Abel Valenzuela Jr.

Abel Valenzuela Jr.

Director & Professor
abel@irle.ucla.edu
(310) 267-4738

Nancy Velasquez

Nancy Velasquez

Chief Administrative Officer
nvelasquez@irle.ucla.edu
(310) 267-4567

Tobias Higbie

Tobias Higbie

Associate Director
higbie@history.ucla.edu
(310) 794-9331


Gloria Chan

Gloria Chan

Student Affairs Officer
gchan@irle.ucla.edu
(310) 206-0812
9244 Bunche Hall

Citlalli Chávez-Nava

Citlalli Chávez-Nava

Communications Director
citlallichavez@ucla.edu
(310) 562-0943

Elizbeth Espinoza

Elizbeth Espinoza

Student Programming Manager/Academic Personnel Coordinator
espinoza@irle.ucla.edu
(310) 206-4336


Veronica Gnandt

Veronica Gnandt

IT Manager
vgnandt@ssc.ucla.edu
(310) 206-2745

Claudia Suarez

Claudia Suarez

Finance Manager
csuarez@irle.ucla.edu
(310) 267-4739

Jenny Tom

Jenny Tom

Executive Administrative Manager
jtom@irle.ucla.edu
(310) 825-8393

Karen Vargas

Karen Vargas

LOSH Fund Manager
kvargas@irle.ucla.edu
(310) 794-5975

Lily Hernandez

Lily Hernandez

Payroll and Personnel Manager
lilyhernandez@irle.ucla.edu
(310) 206-5111

Vanessa Codilla

Vanessa Codilla

Communications Specialist
vcodilla@irle.ucla.edu
(310) 206-5506

Betty Hung, Esq.

Betty Hung, Esq.

Project Director
bettyhung@ucla.edu
(323) 359-1187

Unit Directors


Kent Wong

Kent Wong

Director, UCLA Labor Center

Linda Delp

Linda Delp

Director, Labor Occupational Safety and Health Program

Ellen Sheehan

Ellen Sheehan

Executive Director, HARRT